Apple’s New Maps App Is Teh Suck?!!!111

That’s all I’ve been reading today — how bad the new Maps app is. I used it yesterday for turn-by-turn directions and it worked quite nicely. That’s not to say I believe it is without issues.

It’s just that, not even 2 years ago, Google Maps had my old address wrong. I put in an address, followed it in street view, and my old house had the wrong number completely. Only 4 months back, Google maps had me driving to some poor guy’s house instead of a business park where I had an interview. It was most amusing watching Google maps take me from the location of the building I needed to be to the residential house all by using the Current Location > Address I put in (which, again, was where I already was sitting). FOUR months ago…

So, yes, Google maps has a lot of information. Some of that lot is wrong, even in 2012 with “7+ years of map data” (or whatever the BS figure is). Give Apple Maps some time.

In the meantime, can people just STFU and stop parroting other articles?

This entry was posted in Taking To Task and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

